

July 12, 2019 Conference Call

Executive Committee Meeting

MEETING MINUTES

Elected Officers					
President*	Doug McDonald	CC	Secretary*	Christina Sebastian	CC
President Elect*	Chance Sparks		Past President*	Kim Mickelson	CC
Treasurer*	Angela Martinez	CC	TML Rep*/TML Affiliate	Christopher Looney	
Section Directors					
Central	Shannon Mattingly		Northwest	AJ Fawver	
East	Kyle Kingma		Southwest	Rebecca Pacini	
Houston/Sections Rep*	Gary Mitchell	CC	Southmost	Xavier Cervantes	
Midwest	Tamara Cook		West	Fred Lopez	
North Central	Drew Brawner				
Standing Committee Chairs					
Professional Development Officer*	Richard Luedke	СС	Government Relations	Kelly Porter	
Planning Official Development Officer	Ann Bagley		Advocacy Network Liaison	Craig Farmer	
Emerging Planning Leaders	Monica Rainey		University Rep	Ivonne Audirac	
Planning Awards	Claire Hempel		Student Rep	Kelsey Poole	
Membership	Fred Lopez		Diversity and Inclusion	AJ Fawver	
Other Members					
Communications Manager	Heather Nick		Certification Maintenance Officer	Barbara Holly	
Chapter Historian	David Gattis		Executive Administrator	Mike McAnelly	CC
APA Director Region 3	Wendy Shabay		Communications Tech	Kyle Kingma	
Other Attendees					

X present in person

CC present via conference call

^{*} Members of the Chapter Executive Committee include the Chapter President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, TML representative, Conference Coordinator, Professional Development Officer and Representative of Section Directors as selected by the Section Directors

Call to Order and Roll Call: Doug McDonald, AICP

Chapter President Doug McDonald called the meeting to order at 4:03 pm.

A. Candidate Endorsements

Doug explained how, while candidates cannot campaign, we as the Chapter can endorse and encourage people to vote, which basically happens via social media and email.

Kim recused herself.

1. AICP Commissioner, Region 3: Kim Mickelson and Silvia Vargas

Due to Kim's experience with the APATX Chapter, the EC expressed support for Kim.

Gary Mitchell motioned that we endorse Kim Mickelson. The motion was seconded by Richard Luedke and passed unanimously.

2. APA Board Director, Region 3: Wendy Shabay and Charles Graves

Due to Wendy's experience in this position and experience with the APATX Chapter, the EC expressed support for Wendy.

Kim Mickelson motioned to support Wendy Shabay. The motion was seconded by Angela Martinez and passed unanimously.

3. AICP President-Elect: Marissa Aho and Mitchell Silver

The Executive Committee expressed concern due to Marissa only recently moving to Texas, and the Chapter's past engagement with Mitch Silver (Citylab Summit and conference keynote).

Gary asked if we would mention them both in our endorsements - ie: We support both candidates and encourage you to vote.

Kim Mickelson motioned that we don't we endorse but we provide information on both. The motion was seconded by Christina Sebastian and passed unanimously.

B. Adjourn

Doug McDonald adjourned the Executive Committee meeting at 4:18 pm.

Minutes approved by APATX Executive Committee on August 23, 2019.

Secretary: Christina Sebastian