

Making Great Communities Happen

# Executive Committee Meeting September 9, 2019

Conference Call

# **MEETING MINUTES**

Elected Officers					
President*	Doug McDonald	CC	Secretary*	Christina Sebastian	CC
President Elect*	Chance Sparks	CC	Past President*	Kim Mickelson	
Treasurer*	Angela Martinez		TML Rep*/TML Affiliate	Christopher Looney	CC
Section Directors					
Central	Shannon Mattingly		Northwest	AJ Fawver	
East	Kyle Kingma		Southwest	Rebecca Pacini	
Houston/Sections Rep*	Gary Mitchell	CC	Southmost	Xavier Cervantes	
Midwest	Tamara Cook		West	Fred Lopez	
North Central	Drew Brawner				
Standing Committee Chairs					
Professional Development Officer*	Richard Luedke	СС	Government Relations	Kelly Porter	
Planning Official Development Officer	Ann Bagley		Advocacy Network Liaison	Craig Farmer	
Emerging Planning Leaders	Monica Rainey		University Rep	Ivonne Audirac	
Planning Awards	Claire Hempel		Student Rep	Kelsey Poole	
Membership	Fred Lopez		Diversity and Inclusion	AJ Fawver	
Other Members					
Communications Manager	Heather Nick		Certification Maintenance Officer	Barbara Holly	
Chapter Historian	David Gattis		Executive Administrator	Mike McAnelly	CC
APA Director Region 3	Wendy Shabay		Communications Tech	Kyle Kingma	
Other Attendees					

X present in person

CC present via conference call

<sup>\*</sup> Members of the Chapter Executive Committee include the Chapter President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, TML representative, Conference Coordinator, Professional Development Officer and Representative of Section Directors as selected by the Section Directors

Call to Order and Roll Call: Doug McDonald, AICP

Chapter President Doug McDonald called the meeting to order at 3:04 pm.

#### A. Discuss Miscellaneous Awards

#### 1. Special Legislative Recognition

Doug McDonald discussed recognizing people who made great efforts during the past legislative session, including Abra Nusser for work on a petition and Representative Ramon Romero's office as a resource during the session. APATX gave him the Elected Official award a few years ago, so it may be a little soon to recognize him again. Abra also recently received President's Award.

Christina Sebastian clarified if this an existing or new award category and Doug responded this would be a new type of award that maybe could be presented in future years when there is a legislative session.

Gary Mitchell pointed out it would be good to recognize them during the awards ceremony and to point out that other people should get involved and Richard Luedke confirmed that we would be presenting them certificate or award of some sort.

Gary Michell motioned to recognize Abra Nusser and Rep Romero's office. The motion was seconded by Chance Sparks and passed unanimously.

## 2. Planning Advocate Award - Elected Official and Appointed Official

Doug discussed that there was not a nomination for the Elected Official category this year. Doug recommended Connie Schroeder, Mayor of Bastrop, the first City to come out against the masonry bill. She came to Planners Day at the Capitol and is a former P&Z commissioner. Their comp plan is winning an award and the mayor is speaking at conference.

Gary Mitchell motioned to recognize Connie Schroeder for the Elected Official award. The motion was seconded by Richard Luedke and passed unanimously.

#### 3. Texas Chapter Award

Doug discussed that the Texas Chapter Award is to be presented to a non-planner or non-planning entity. Doug and Chance suggested two options: ASLA Texas, which signed the masonry bill letter with us; and Dallas ISD for the Citylab High School initiative. Both will be present at the conference - Citylab students and teachers will be presenting.

Gary pointed out we should keep ASLA in mind for the future along with TML.

Gary Mitchell made a motion to support presenting the Texas Chapter Award to Dallas ISD for the Citylab High School initiative. The motion was seconded by Chris Looney and passed unanimously.

Doug mentioned the Dallas ISD award would likely be presented at lunch on Thursday, as that's the day the students will be there.

## 4. Adjourn

Doug McDonald adjourned the Board meeting at 3:25 pm.

Minutes approved by Board of Directors November 6, 2019. Secretary: Christina Sebastian