

Executive Committee Meeting Zoom May 29, 2020

Creating Great Communities for All

MEETING MINUTES

Elected Officers					
President*	Chance Sparks	CC	Secretary*	Christina Sebastian	
President Elect*	Heather Nick	CC	Past President*	Doug McDonald	CC
Treasurer*	Gary Mitchell	CC	TML Rep*/TML Affiliate	Lee Battle	CC
	Se	ection	Directors		
Central	Martin Zimmerman		Northwest	AJ Fawver	
East	Michael Howell		Southwest	John Osten	
Houston	Shad Comeaux		Southmost	Xavier Cervantes	
Midwest	Abra Nusser		West	Kevin Smith	
North Central	Kendall Howard				
Standing Committee Chairs					
Professional Development Officer*	Richard Luedke	CC	Government Relations	Kelly Porter	
Planning Official Development Officer	Ann Bagley		Advocacy Network Liaison	Craig Farmer	
Sections Representative*	Fred Lopez	CC	Membership	Matt Jones	
Conference Coordinator*	Angela Martinez	CC	Diversity and Inclusion	AJ Fawver	
Emerging Planning Leaders	Monica Rainey		University Rep		
Planning Awards	Claire Hempel		Student Rep		
	Specia	al Com	mittee Chairs		
Communications Manager	Heather Nick	CC	Hurricane Harvey Task Force Chair	Kimberly Miller	
Chapter Historian	David Gattis		Census 2020 Committee	Joey Crumley	
Certification Maintenance Officer	Barbara Holly				
	(Other <i>N</i>	Members		
Executive Administrator	Mike McAnelly	CC	Communications Tech	Kyle Kingma	CC
	Na	tional	Leadership		
APA Director Region III	Wendy Shabay		Latinos and Planning Division Treasurer	Carlo Chunga Pizarro	
AICP Director Region III	Kim Mickelson		Federal Planning Division Chair	Andrew Wright	
APA Foundation Board Treasurer	Mike McAnelly	СС	City Planning & Management Division Vice Chair	Alex Hoffman	
CPC Treasurer/Secretary	Doug McDonald	CC	Economic Development Division Chair	Rebecca Leonard	
Sustainable Communities Division Chair	Matt Bucchin	СС	Student Representatives Council Chair	Veronica Escalera-Ibarra	
Latinos and Planning Division Secretary	Marco Hinojosa				
	C	ther A	ttendees		
Rob Rae		CC			

X present in person

CC present via conference call

* Members of the Chapter Executive Committee include the Chapter President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, TML representative, Conference Coordinator, Professional Development Officer, and Section Representative

MINUTES

A. Call to Order and Roll Call: Chance Sparks, AICP

Chapter President Chance Sparks called the meeting to order at 12:06 pm CST.

- B. Conference-Related Business: Chance Sparks, AICP
 - 1. Task Force Report for Conference Contingency Plan Doug McDonald, AICP, Christina Sebastian, AICP, Kyle Kingma, AICP, and Heather Nick, AICP
 - Virtual Conference Platform Evaluation
 - APATX20 Virtual Conference Recommendations and Logistical Needs

Doug McDonald and Heather Nick gave a summary on research for a virtual conference. Doug noted that they are using Otter today to record this meeting and they have submitted a grant request to purchase a year license with Otter to use during the conference - program will record and transcribe sessions. Heather gave a summary of platform research and results, with Pheedloop as a promising platform that has been very responsive. Estimated cost for 1,000 attendees starts at \$6,250 with a variety of possible add-ons..

2. Updates and Actions Regarding In-Person Conference in El Paso – Chance Sparks, AICP and Mike McAnelly, FAICP—Attachment B-2 (Action Item)

Mike McAnelly gave an update regarding the 2020 El Paso conference, which will not be occurring. El Paso has provided a proposal to reschedule the conference to October 2022. Fred Lopez noted that the local committee is supportive of rescheduling to 2022 and noted that more meeting room space may be needed than just the Hotel Paso Del Norte, even once renovated.

3. Update Regarding Discussions with Other Chapter Presidents and Structure for Multi-Chapter Partnerships for Virtual Conference – Chance Sparks, AICP

Chance Sparks discussed how neighboring Chapters have expressed interest in collaborating on a conference - New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana. This would involve reopening session submittals.

4. Alternative Sponsor and Exhibitor Packages based on a Virtual Conference – Chance Sparks, AICP, Rob Rae, AICP, and Task Force Members

Chance Sparks discussed an idea to adjust sponsor packages with an early sign-up rate to encourage earlier commitment.

Doug McDonald motioned to move the El Paso conference from 2020 to 2022 and authorize Mike McAnelly and Angela Martinez to renegotiate and sign contracts as such; to transform the state conference to a digital conference and authorize Mike McAnelly and Chance Sparks to sign a contract for a digital platform; to authorize Mike McAnelly and Chance Sparks to partner with other state Chapters and to sign any memorandums of understanding, as needed. The motion was seconded by Gary Mitchell and passed unanimously.

Mike McAnelly confirmed that we would still want to move forward with Gil Penalosa as keynote speaker for the virtual conference.

- C. Future Meetings
 - 1. APATX Board of Directors Meeting and Legislative Advocacy Forum TBD
 - 2. APATX Executive Committee TBD
- D. Adjourn

Chance Sparks adjourned the Board meeting at 1:14 pm CST.

Minutes approved by the Board of Directors on September 25, 2020.

Recorded via Otter

Secretary: Christina Sebastian