American Planning Association – Texas Chapter Announces State Planning Awards


Dallas, Texas – The American Planning Association (APA) Texas Chapter today announced the state’s best planning projects, advocates, and communities for 2022. The Texas Planning Awards Program recognizes outstanding efforts in planning achievements and planning leadership in Texas. These awards represent the state’s highest planning honors. The Awards Selection Committee evaluated nominees based on originality and innovation, engagement, implementation and effectiveness, quality, and promotion of planning.

“These awards recognize the great planning efforts taking place in Texas,” said Heather Nick, AICP, President of APA-Texas. “The recipients and their projects demonstrate some of the best practices of community planning and will serve as examples for other communities across the state and nation.”

The Texas Planning Awards Program also recognizes an elected and appointed official who have made an outstanding contribution to planning; student project award; and a Community of the Year.

The announcement of the Texas Planning Awards is one of the ways APA recognizes National Community Planning Month each October, a month-long event celebrating the accomplishments of the many residents, leaders, officials, and professionals who contribute to making great communities through the planning process.

The 2022 Texas Planning Award Recipients are listed on the following pages by award category. To read more about each award category and award recipient, visit


Planning Excellence Awards

Comprehensive Plan

·       City of Pflugerville Aspire Pflugerville 2040

·       City of College Station Comprehensive Plan

Planning Advocate

·       City Manager Mike Sims, City of Terrell


Student Project

·       Texas Target Communities Envision Caldwell Comprehensive Plan 2022-2042


Community of the Year

·       City of Fate


Planning Achievement Awards

Best Practice Award

·       City of Houston Planning and Development Department ADU|HOU - Gold

·       Harris County Community Services Department My Home is Here: Harris County's Housing Needs Assessment and 10-Year Strategy - Silver

·       Houston-Galveston Area Council East Aldine Livable Centers Study– Silver


Grassroots Initiative Award

·       Central Williamson Creek Greenway Vision Plan – Gold


Implementation Award

·       Kerrville 2050 Implementation Plan – Gold

·       Texas Target Communities, City of Nolanville ENDEAVRide: Transport + Telemedicine for Small, Rural Communities – Silver

Public Outreach Award

·       City of Cleburne Zoning Ordinance and Zoning Map Update – Gold



Transportation Planning Award

·       City of Brownsville Sidewalk and Trails Master Plan – Gold

·       Houston Downtown Redevelopment Authority Bagby Street Improvement Project – Gold


Urban Design Award

·       City of Garland Greenbelt Parkway Special Area Plan – Gold

·       Forward Lufkin: Downtown Lufkin Economic Development and Public Realm Vision Plan – Gold

·       Houston-Galveston Area Council Old Seabrook Livable Center Study – Silver


Environmental Planning Award

·       City of Cedar Hill Cedar Hill Next - Comprehensive Plan – Gold

·       Houston-Galveston Area Council Regional Conservation Framework and Initiative – Silver


Historic Preservation Award

·       City of Plano Haggard Park Heritage District Design Standards – Gold


Resilience Award

·        Harris County Flood Control District Ruffino Hills Landfill: Resilient Redevelopment and Detention Strategy – Gold


For more information about the Texas Planning Awards Program, as well as a list of the planning award recipients from previous years, visit

The American Planning Association and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners, are dedicated to advancing the art, science and profession of good planning -- physical, economic, and social -- so as to create communities that offer better choices for where and how people work and live. Members of APA help create communities of lasting value and encourage civic leaders, business interests, and citizens to play a meaningful role in creating communities that enrich people's lives. APA has offices in Washington, D.C., Chicago, Ill, and Shanghai, China. For more information, visit its website at

# # #

If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Claire Hempel, AICP Texas Awards Committee Chair at 512-774-9191 or email at

Download press release