Richard R. Lillie, FAICP Planning Excellence Recognition Program

Richard R. Lillie, FAICP Planning Excellence Recognition Program

The Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association continues it’s program of recognizing planning excellence in municipalities throughout the State.  Evaluation criteria include the level of training of Planning Commissioners and professional staff, professional qualifications of the planning staff, breadth and currency of master plan components and completion of other planning related projects. The goals of the program include:

  • Increasing community awareness of the importance of planning,
  • Recognizing planning departments which meet certain professional requirements,
  • Recognizing planning efforts that have achieved community support,
  • Encouraging the funding of professional training for Planning Commissioners and staff, and
  • Aiding economic development and community image.

2019-2020 Recognized Cities
Town of Argyle City of Duncanville City of Pflugerville
City of Arlington City of Frisco City of Plano
City of Bastrop City of Hutto City of Richardson
City of Benbrook City of Irving City of Rockport
City of Bryan City of League City City of Sachse
City of Buda City of Leander City of San Angelo
City of Cedar Park City of Lewisville City of Schertz
City of Celina City of Longview City of Southlake
City of College Station City of Lubbock City of Sugar Land
City of Colleyville City of Mansfield City of Texarkana
City of Corpus Christi City of McKinney City of Tyler
City of Corinth City of Murphy City of Waxahachie
City of Dripping Springs City of North Richland Hills City of West Lake Hills

2019 Application

Follow the link below and a $50.00 fee must be submitted to Mike McAnelly, Executive Administrator – APA Texas Chapter, 9629 Fallbrook Drive, Dallas, Texas 75243.

Apply Here